Ministerio de Economía y Competitividad Gobierno de Canarias Universidad de La Laguna CSIC Centro de Excelencia Severo Ochoa

Press and Multimedia

Fifth edition of the “Adaptive Optics for Extremely Large Telescopes” meeting

Jun. 19, 2017

In this international meeting, organized between 25th and 30th June in Puerto de la Cruz (Tenerife) by the Instituto de Astrofísica de Canarias (IAC), the participants will review the latest advances in Adaptive Optics and will present the future challenges which face the design, construction, and installation of these systems in the extremely large telescopes of the future.

Next Sunday, 25th June, sees the start of the Fifth edition of “Adaptive Optics for Extremely Large Telescopes” meeting (AO4ELT5, Fifth Adaptive Optics for Extremely Large Telescopes), organized by the Instituto de Astrofísica de Canarias (IAC) at the Hotel Botánico, in Puerto de la Cruz (Tenerife). This conference will be an international meeting point for some 300 specialists in this technique, whose development and practice is one of the biggest challenges when building giant telescopes (Extremely Large Telescopes, ELT’s).

Adaptive Optics (AO is a technique which compensates for the perturbations produced by the atmosphere in astronomical images. Some of the topics to be discussed at the conference include the present design of these systems as related to the scientific instruments and objectives, as well as pioneering projects, and those already installed on telescopes, including solar telescopes, which offer important results for the design of the future ELT’s. In addition there will be pooling of knowledge on recent developments in AO, with particular attention on technological aspects such as mirrors, lasers, control systems and wavefront sensors, as well as new post-processing tools to enhance the image quality and maximize the scientific returns from the instruments.

The conference will consist of 11 subject blocks (see attached programme), three poster sessions, and one special session dedicated to policies of gender equality in the scientific community of Adaptive Optics. The participants will have the opportunity to visit the Teide Observatory (Izaña, Tenerife) on Wednesday June 28th, as well as the Roque de los Muchachos Observatory (Garafía, La Palma) on Saturday 1st July.

Scientific organizing committee

  • Icíar Montilla (IAC, chair)
  • Simone Esposito (Co- chair)
  • Thierry Fusco (Co- chair)
  • Gerard Rousset (Co- chair)
  • Jean Pierre Veran (Co- chair)
  • Thomas Berkefeld
  • Antonin Bouchez
  • Corinne Boyer
  • Celine d'Orgeville
  • Brent Ellerbroek
  • Yutaka Hayano
  • Norbert Hubin
  • Caroline Kulcsar
  • Matteo Lombini
  • Pierre-Yves Madec
  • Jose Marino
  • Elena Masciadri
  • Casiana Muñoz Tuñón
  • Tim Morris
  • Benoit Neichel
  • Mitchell Troy

Local Organizing Committee

  • Julio A. Castro Almazán
  • Carlos Colodro Conde
  • Begoña García Lorenzo
  • Icíar Montilla
  • Luzma Montoya
  • Alex Oscoz
  • Marta Puga
  • Marcos Reyes García Talavera
  • Gustavo Rodríguez Coira
  • Luis F. Rodríguez-Ramos
  • Víctor Sánchez-Béjar
  • Fabio Tenegui
  • Gelys Trancho
  • Sergio Velasco

More information:


Complet list of press releases | More press releases of year 2017

We use our own cookies and cookies from a third party to gather statistical information to improve our services and our website. If you continue with the navigation, you are accepting the installation and use of these cookies. You can change the configuration of your browser not to accept the installation or you can obtain more information in our Cookie Policy.