Ministerio de Ciencia, Innovación y Universidades Gobierno de Canarias Universidad de La Laguna CSIC Centro de Excelencia Severo Ochoa

Press and Multimedia

The 4th SOLARNET meeting "The physics of the Sun from the interior to the outer atmosphere" will start next Monday

Jan. 13, 2017

Organized by the Instituto de Astrofísica de Canarias (IAC), and within the framework of the European project SOLARNET, the congress will bring together the scientific community in Solar Physics to discuss the challenges it faces and encourage collaboration between research programs. The event will take place in Arrecife (Lanzarote) during 16th and 20th January.

The 4th SOLARNET meeting "The physics of the Sun from the interior to the outer atmosphere", organized by the Instituto de Astrofísica de Canarias (IAC), will take place during 16th and 20th January in Arrecife (Lanzarote). The main pupose of this conference is to provide a coherent picture of the Sun as a single physical system playing all the underlying physical processes measured and observed in the solar atmosphere to date. 

The congress will be an international meeting point for the astrophysical community at all levels, from doctoral students to experienced researchers, in which the most recent advances will be discussed. It will consist of short presentations, organized in sessions dedicated to different topics related to Solar Physics, such as the study of the interior of the Sun, the formation of spots and active regions and the links between the subsurface dynamics and coronal mass ejections . It will also identify problems arising from its study and foster collaboration to create synergies between different solar research programs. The invited talks will summarize the main results in this field.

The meeting will include a special session dedicated to upcoming solar telescopes and instrumentation, such as the future European Solar Telescope (EST), the largest of its kind in Europe and to be installed in the Observatories of the Canary Islands. It is worth noting the wide female participation in the meeting, whose scientific committee is entirely composed of women.

Scientific Organisation Committee: 

  • Elena Khomenko (IAC, chair)
  • María Jesús Martínez González (IAC, Spain, co-chair)
  • Alina Donea (Monash University, Australia)
  • Mausumi Dikpati (High Altitude Observatory (HAO), USA)
  • Natasha Shchukina (Main Astronomical Observatory (MAO), Ukraine)
  • Francesca Zuccarello (Università degli Studi di Catania, Italy)
  • Aimee Norton (Stanford University, USA)
  • Lindsey Fletcher (University of Glasgow, UK)
  • Ineke de Moortel (University of St Andrews, UK)
  • Emilia Kilpua (University of Helsinki, Finland)

Local Organisation Committee:

  • Elena Khomenko (chair)
  • María Jesús Martínez González (co-chair)
  • Iñigo Arregui
  • Melania Cubas Armas
  • Carlos José Díaz Baso
  • Reza Rezaei
  • Beatrice Popescu Braileanu
  • Alberto Escobar Rodríguez
  • Manuel Collados

More information at the 4th SOLARNET meting web:


  • Elena Khomenko, chair of the scientific organisation committee (IAC):
  • Manuel Collados,  SOLARNET project coordinator (IAC):
  • Alberto Escobar, SOLARNET project manager (IAC):

Complet list of press releases | More press releases of year 2017

We use our own cookies and cookies from a third party to gather statistical information to improve our services and our website. If you continue with the navigation, you are accepting the installation and use of these cookies. You can change the configuration of your browser not to accept the installation or you can obtain more information in our Cookie Policy.