Three Moonwalkers join the Starmus Festival

Bill Anders, Jim Lovell, Garik Israelian and Valerie (Anders´ wife) in the Teide.
Advertised on

Image removed. Starmus International Festival dedicated to the world of astronomy and science returns to Tenerife to address " Beginnings: the making of the modern cosmos." The Festival is supported by Gobierno de Canarias through PROMOTUR Turismo de Canarias, Cabildo de Tenerife, International Astronomical Union and Canary Islands Astrophysics Institute (IAC).

This will include the participation of three of the men who walked on the Moon: Harrison Schmitt of Apollo 17, Charlie Duke of Apollo 16 and Edward Mitchell of Apollo 14. Thus, the festival aims to continue the success in 2011 in the first Starmus with others Apollo´s astronauts like Neil Armstrong and Buzz Aldrin of Apollo 11, Bill Anders of Apollo 8 and Jim Lovell of Apollo 13.

This second edition of the festival, merge culture and science , and will again as the Abama hotel headquarters , south of Tenerife, between 22 and 27 September .

The Festival will allow us to enjoy, learn and share knowledge and experiences on astronomy with three astronauts, in addition to Nobel , eminent researchers and international figures from various fields of science, knowledge and the arts awards.

The three moonwalkers

Harrison Schmitt was the lunar module pilot of Apollo 17 and became the last person to walk on the moon. Schmitt suggested that the landing site of Apollo 17 was the large crater Tsiolkovsky,  located on the far side of the moon, but NASA considered too dangerous so it was rejected. Schmitt was also selected for the backup crew of Apollo 15, and it was a clear candidate to participate in the Apollo 18. In 1965 Schmitt resigned his positions at the U.S. space with the aim to present as a Republican candidate for the U.S. Senate. He is currently Director of Orbital Sciences Corporation.

Edgar Dean Mitchell was the lunar module pilot on the Apollo 14 mission and the sixth man to walk on the moon. Mitchell served as an astronaut in mission support and as a substitute Apollo 9 lunar module pilot of the Apollo 10 mission. He was elected as a substitute for lunar module pilot of the Apollo 16 mission. Edgar Dean was nominated for the Nobel Peace Prize in 2005. He is the founder of the Institute of Noetic Sciences and co-founder of the Association of Space Explorers.

Charles Moss Duke, participated as Orion lunar module pilot on the Apollo 16 mission in 1972 and explored Descartes. The Apollo 16 mission is considered one of the most successful, due to the number of experiments performed on lunar terrain , and the amount of rocky material brought to Earth . Charles M. Duke decided to leave the Apollo program after the Apollo 16 mission concluded and founded the Charlie Duke Enterprises, Inc.


For this occasion, and after the success of the first Starmus held in 2011 , the organization has worked hard to create a unique event. If you want to attend Starmus 2014, you can do so by accessing the web . Starmus 2014 includes the three-day conference , a concert , coffee breaks, the "Space legends" event and exhibition Astro .An  'Star Party’  has been also organized ' in the Teide National Park and a day to meet the speakers inside the Gran Telescopio Canarias ( GTC ) on the Isla de la Palma.

For more information and images contact:

Carolina Carolina Rodríguez and Carlos Lopezosa

Telephone: +34 649391989

Mail: prensanacional [at] (prensanacional[at]starmus[dot]com)

News type