International Scientific Committee (CCI)


Over the years since the Agreement on Cooperation in Astrophysics was signed in La Palma on the 26th May 1979 eight European countries have adhered to this International Treaty.

The Treaty is made up of three levels:

  • First level: documents signed by the respective governments (Contracting Parties).

  • Second level: documents signed by the corresponding research organizations in each country (Signatory Bodies ).

  • Third level: documents signed by the IAC and each of the User Institutions (UIs).

Intergovernmental Agreement

Protocol & Addenda

Any country can request permission to install its telescopes at the Observatorios de Canarias (OOCC) by subscribing to the International Agreement and Protocol and signing a (Third Level) Agreement with the IAC specifying the instrument to be installed. Under the terms of this agreement, Spain provides the site in return for a package that includes at least 20% of the available observing time. A further 5% of observing time at each telescope will be available for the International Time Programme (ITP): CALL FOR PROPOSALS (pdf) and APPLICATION FORM (docx), which is open to the research organizations of all of the Contracting Parties, including Spain.

Please note that due to long-term allocations made by the CCI last year, no ITP time is available on the NOT, only 7 nights are available on the TNG, a reduced number of hours is available on the GTC, and only 26 hours are available on STELLA across Semesters 22B and 23A (this note added with apologies on 1 Feb; added GTC on Feb 3).

This Agreement confers on the Signatory Bodies an effective participation in the decision-making process by means of an International Scientific Committee (CCI).

Countries that are currently adhered to the International Treaty

  • Belgium
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Italy
  • Spain
  • United Kingdom

Countries with a bilateral relationship with the IAC or which are members of international consortia with installations in the OOCC

  • Mexico
  • Norway
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Netherlands
  • Russia
  • United States
  • Japan
  • Katar
  • Sweden

International organizations with telescopes in the OOCC